Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Parliamentarians pay tributes to Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

New Delhi, India,

Lok Sabha Speaker Smt. Meira Kumar; Leader of the House (Lok Sabha), Shri Pranab Mukherjee; Leader of Opposition (Lok Sabha), Smt Sushma Swaraj; Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Shri K. Rahman Khan and Leader of Opposition (Rajya Sabha), Shri Arun Jaitley led the nation in paying floral tributes to Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar on his Birth Anniversary in the Central Hall of Parliament House today.

Among the dignitaries who paid floral tributes to Dr. Ambedkar were several Union Ministers, Members of Parliament and former Members of Parliament.

Secretaries-General of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, Shri P.D.T. Achary and Dr. V. K. Agnihotri, respectively, also paid floral tributes.

A booklet containing the profile of Dr. B.R. Ambedkar, brought out by the Lok Sabha Secretariat, both in Hindi and English, was presented to the dignitaries who attended the function.

The portrait of Dr. Bhimrao Ambedkar was unveiled in the Central Hall of Parliament House by the then Prime Minister, Shri Vishwanath Pratap Singh, on 12 April 1990 in recognition of his many splendoured services to the nation.

Speaker's Office