Saturday, January 16, 2010

ANU Chancellor wins International Freedom award


Australian National University (ANU) Vice-Chancellor Professor Ian Chubb has congratulated the University’s new Chancellor Gareth Evans on being named winner of the international 2010 Freedom from Fear Medal.

The international prize is awarded every two years by the Roosevelt Stichting in the Netherlands, a private foundation allied with the Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt Institute in New York. Previous recipients of Roosevelt medals include Nelson Mandela, John F. Kennedy and Terry Waite.

Professor Evans receives the Freedom from Fear award for his pioneering work in compelling the world to understand the Responsibility to Protect Concept (R2P). According to R2P, national sovereignty can no longer serve as a protective shield for nations which allow their own citizens to be the subject of atrocities and genocidal crimes.

“This is a credit to Gareth, recognising his efforts to tackle some of the big problems on the world stage,” Professor Chubb said. “We are proud that he will be bringing this same energy to his new role as Chancellor at ANU.”

The Freedom from Fear award is one of the Four Freedoms Medals presented each year to people whose achievements have demonstrated a commitment to the principles that President Roosevelt proclaimed in his historic speech to the US Congress on January 6, 1941, as essential to democracy: freedom of speech and expression, freedom of worship, freedom from want, freedom from fear.

Professor Evans is also President Emeritus of the International Crisis Group, Co-Chair of the International Commission on Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament and Honorary Professorial Fellow at Melbourne University. He served for 21 years in the Australian Parliament and 13 years as a Cabinet Minister.

Professor Evans will be installed as ANU Chancellor next month.


Australian National University

No comments:

Post a Comment

Ground Report India publishes articles as they are given. Ground Report India is not responsible for views of writers, critics and reporters. For any contradiction, please contact to the author.

Please give your Name, Email, Postal Address and Introduction with comment.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.